Frequently Asked Questions

This page is designed to answer frequently asked questions for those interested in taking atraditional classroom Defensive Driving Diversion program at Arizona School of Defensive Driving. If you need additional information or have questions, please call us during business hours, (480) 361-1858, or e-mail us at Registration@AzSODD.com.

Q. Why should I take a Defensive Driving diversion class?

A. If you have received a traffic citation, and you are eligible, you may take a Defensive Driving class to avoid a single violation from being placed on your motor vehicle (MVD) driving record. The benefits of taking the class are typically a reduced fine or fee, no impact on your insurance premiums, and no points are assessed to your motor vehicle record. Additionally, you will learn valuable traffic information, driving techniques and current Arizona traffic laws.

Q. Am I eligible to take a Defensive Driving class?

A. Most common moving violations qualify for the Defensive Driving Diversion program. If you do NOT have a commercial (CDL) driver license, and have NOT taken a defensive driving class within 24 months of your last traffic citation, and your traffic ticket was not a result of a collision that involved a death or serious physical injury, and the violation is on the List of Eligible Violations, you are eligible to complete the defensive driving diversion program as long as you complete the course at least 7 calendar days prior to your court date.

 

Please feel free to call or e-mail us and we will check your eligibility for the Defensive Driving Diversion Program. Additionally, we may be able to provide you with a court date continuance (extension) to meet the 7 day class completion requirement.

Q. Is the violation I was cited for qualify for the Defensive Driving program?

A. The List of Qualified Violations may be viewed here.

Q. I was cited for multiple violations does the Defensive Driving program dismiss all of them?

A. No. The Defensive Driving Diversion program dismisses a single violation only. You will have to contact the court to resolve any remaining violations.

Q. Do I have to preregister?

A. Yes. By preregistering, we are able to determine your eligibility for the Defensive Driving Diversion course through the Arizona Supreme Court centralized database. It is ultimately your responsibility to determine your eligibility. We will assist you in that endeavor. Citizens attending the Defensive Driving class are required to sign an “Affirmation of Eligibility” when they register at the classroom location.

Q. How do I preregister?

A. You may register online, or you may register by phone. You may click Classroom Registration to proceed to the classroom registration page, or you may call us during business hours (Monday – Friday, 9:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.) at (480) 361-1858.

Q. How long does the class take?

A. The traditional classroom defensive driving program takes 4 – 4.5 hours to complete. Our published class times are 5 hours, which includes a half hour registration period and a short break.

Q. How much does the Defensive Driving class cost?

A. It depends on the jurisdiction where you received your traffic complaint/citation. The jurisdictional court information is found on your ticket. Our school fee is $38 for those paying with a cashier's check or money order and $45 for those paying with credit or debit cards for most courts.

We accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards. We do not accept personal checks.

To determine the TOTAL COST of your traffic citation, click your choice of payment method:

Q. Do you accept debit and credit cards?

A. Yes, at most locations. Visa, MasterCard, American Express and Discover. If you are not sure if the location you are attending accepts debit and credit cards, please call us at (480) 361-1858, and we will make arrangements for you.

Q. When do I pay my traffic citation/complaint fees?

A. Fees are collected at the time you attend the Defensive Driving class. We do not collect fees in advance.

Q. Do I have to pass a written test?

A. No. In our traditional classroom Defensive Driving course, there is no test to take or pass. Internet based Defensive Driving Diversion programs have a 25 question test that you must score 80% or better to pass.

Q. What do I need to bring to class?

A. A copy of your citation and any related documents you have received from the court, your fee payment (certified funds in the EXACT amount, or Credit/Debit card), your driver license, and a pen. You may also bring a refreshment and/or snack.

Q. Do I need to notify the Court that I have completed a Defensive Driving Diversion course?

No. We will do that for you through the Arizona Supreme Court centralized Defensive Driving database. Additionally, we will provide you with a receipt and Certificate of Completion for your records.

Q. What is your refund policy?

A. It is mandated by the Arizona Supreme Court that once you begin the Defensive Driving Diversion course, there are NO REFUNDS!! If you start the class and, for any reason, are unable to complete the 4 to 4.5 hour class, you will not receive a refund or partial credit. We will reschedule you for a different class session provided completion would meet the 7 day prior to your court arraignment/appearance date requirement.

Q. Can I reschedule without paying an additional fee or penalty?

A. Yes. We do not charge fees for rescheduling. It is important to remember that you must complete the Defensive Driving Diversion course at least 7 days prior to your Court arraignment/appearance date shown on your traffic complaint/citation.

Q. Can I get a court arraignment date extension in order to complete the Defensive Driving Diversion course?

A. Most commonly referred to as a “continuance”, many courts offer a one-time court arraignment date extension of 30-60 days. If you need a court date continuance, you should call or e-mail us as we are able to provide continuances for many courts.

Q. Are there deadlines for completing the Defensive Driving program?

A. Yes. The Defensive Driving Diversion course must be completed at least 7 days prior to your court arraignment/appearance date on your traffic complain/citation, or within the time allowed by a court date continuance/extention.

Q. Will I receive a Certificate of Completion?

A. Yes. Upon completion of the class, you will be given a Certificate of Completion for your records.

Q. How much is your School Fee?

A. It depends on the form of payment. If you pay with a cashier's check or money order our school fee is $35. If you pay using a debit or credit card, our school fee is $45.

TOTAL COST by court can be found here (click one):

Q. Is the Internet based class shorter?

A. No. It takes at least 4-4.5 hours, and there is a 25 question test you must take. You must score 80% or better to pass.

Q. Are you a Certified Defensive Driving School in Arizona?

A. Yes. Arizona School of Defensive Driving, LLC is an Arizona Supreme Court certified Defensive Driving school.

Q. Is the Defensive Driving Diversion program the same as Traffic Survival School?

A. No.